Annual Yachting Queensland awards night a success



Andrew Gough, Friday, 9 December 2011

The annual Yachting Queensland awards were presented Tuesday night, as YQ recognised the achievement of a variety of Queensland sailors.



First to be announced was North Queensland Sailor Michael Guinea from Townsville sailing Club.  The results Guinea has achieved over the past few years are quite outstanding. Amongs the difficulties of travel, cost and regatta venues Guinea’s results are truly outstanding. His most outstanding results came this year where he placed 8th at the F18 Australian Championships 6th in the F18 Texel Dutch Open and 34th from a fleet of 400 in the infamous Round Texel Race.

Queensland Female Sailor of the Year the Jenny VI Trophy was appropriately awarded to Lyndall Patterson. Her incredible win at the Laser class 2010 Grand Masters World Championships, gave Patterson the edge over her other nominees. Not only a competitive sailor but a mother of two and an incredible roll model for fellow sailors Patterson is an extremely well deserved nominee.

 The Simba Trophy or Junior Sailor of the Year award this year was given to Gold Coast sailor Tom Siganto.  Siganto was the overall winner of the South Queensland Sabot Association trials and river trials as well a competitively placed 3rd in the 2010 Sabot National Championships held in Tasmania. Siganto has now stepped from his Sabot into the high performance 29er class and is hoping to be racing at the top of the fleet at this years Australian Youth and Open Championships.

 The second youth award is the Barrenjoey Trophy which was awarded to Queensland’s Youth Sailors of the Year. This award is given to athletes who have competed at a high level both nationally and internationally. This year the trophy has respectfully been awarded to 420 / 470 pair Angus Galloway and Alexander Gough. These young Queenslanders have proudly represented Australia winning the 420 class during Kieler Woche in Germany, placing 3rd at the ISAF Youth Worlds in Croatia and taking Gold at the Junior 420 European Championships in Belgium. Unfortunately the pair are racing in perth and couldn't make the evening. 

 The Wistari Trophy for Queensland Offshore Sailor of the Year, is awarded to the owner or skipper of a yacht that has excelled in a Blue Water event or series during 2010 – 11. Sportsmanship and contributions to the sport in general may also be considered in the allocation of this award. Nonetheless this year the Wistari Trophy was given to Rudy Weber from the Cleveland Yacht Club. Webers results speak for themselves winning the PHF overall division, the PHRF Division 3 and Veteran class of this years Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race.

The final award the Solo Trophy is presented for outstanding services to the sport of boating in Queensland. Such services could be in the areas of administration, event management and associated training. It is envisaged that nominees will have given some years of significant service to the sport of sailing. This year Bill Thordurn from Brisbane shun above the other nominees due to his years of contribution to the sport. Both a life member of the Brisbane Sailing Squadron and the Queensland 16ft Skiff Association, Thordurn’s years of service in administration and sailing associations has been invaluable.