2006 NSW Sprint Championships held at HHSC


Thursday, 26 October 2006

A report on the NSW sprint series hosted by Hunters Hill Sailing Club. Also links to RESULTS and PHOTOS.

NSW State Flying 11 Sprint Championships 2007

Hunters Hill Sailing Club

23rd & 24th September


First 'All Girl Crew' - Olivia Price and Elizabeth Jones from Drummoyne (plus third on Scratch)


(Click here to go to RESULTS)

(Click here to go to Photos)



A 41 boat fleet turned out to participate in the 2006-2007 NSW Flying 11 State Sprint Championship sailed on western Sydney Harbour over the weekend 23 and 24 September.  Of the 82 sailors 45 (55%) were girls, with the top female crew placed third overall.

Racing started on Saturday after a near two hour delay waiting for the ESE to fill in and stabilise. As the boats were lined up on the start line for the third race there was a collision between a Rivercat and a 12 foot skiff right in the middle of the race course. This kept the rescue boats fully occupied for the next hour, helping the Police and Maritime NSW crews retrieve the wreckage from under the Rivercat. Luckily, both of the crew were largely unharmed - more than can be said for the 12.


Due to the time delay, only one more sprint could be raced that day. On the Sunday morning the wind at Hunters Hill was 10-15 knots from the NW at start time but the Race Committee were unable to let the boats go out due to a gale warning. The breeze started picking up from 11am and racing for the day was abandoned at 11.30. Squalls during the day topped out at 47 knots.

The sportsmanship and skill levels of the young sailors were outstanding. When waiting for the accident to be cleared or the RO to make the gale warning go away there was little evidence of frustration. Instead of sailing they took the opportunity to socialise with each other, forming friendships that will be strengthened as they meet at other regattas over the course of the season.

The regatta was extremely well organised cooperatively by the NSW Flying Eleven Association and Hunters Hill Sailing Club. The three races constituted a series and Lionel McFadyen, the NSW Flying Eleven President, presented the awards.

The winner on Scratch was the Avalon Sailing Club boat, Ace (1334), sailed by Peter Kendall and Louise Halford. Relentless (1293) sailed by Claire Lunnsman and Melinda Smith from Lane Cove 12' SSC was first on Handicap. The trophy for the First
All Girl Crew was won by Olivia Price and Elizabeth Jones from Drummoyne, who also came third on Scratch, in Crunchie (1336). The teams trophy was won by the RPAYC team (Heroes and Villains 1318, Robert and Mathew Crawford 2nd Scratch, Attitude 1212, Bonny Shaw and Amy Smith 4th Scratch and Inferno 1312, Jenna Walters and Georgina Johnstone).



Other Links
 Overall Results


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Newsletter Sign up

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required