History of Touch

Touch Football is a thrilling sport that allows people of all walks of life to achieve their goals; whether that is the thrill of challenging oneself to compete at their best, the thrill of a fast, skilful and exhilarating sport, the thrill of meeting new people or the thrill of being a part of something that can span a lifetime.

Touch Football was formally established in 1968 by Bob Dyke and Ray Vawdon of the South Sydney Juniors rugby league club.

Although closely aligned to Rugby League, all heavy body contact is eliminated in Touch Football. There are no tackles, scrums or kicking. The emphasis is on running, agility, passing and catching.

Originally devised as a training method for League players and a means for retired players to still compete and remain fit, the game had spread across Australia and New Zealand by 1976.

Women’s Touch was first played at a representative level in 1979, the first National Championships held in 1980 and the first Touch World Cup in 1988. The first National Touch League (NTL) tournament was launched in 1997.
In 2013, the NRL and Touch Football Australia formed a partnership and 2018 sees the 50th anniversary of the game.

Today, Touch is among the highest participation-based organised sports with over 613,000 taking part. Forty-six per cent of these are female, and participants can play in men’s, women’s, or mixed gender teams, and of any age or sporting ability.

The sport is now played in 53 countries worldwide.

Notice Board

Registration for MWTA's 2018 Senior Winter Competition is now closed!

However if you still need to register as a player, please clink on the link Senior Online RegosYou will need your team code from your team contact.

Signing On:

It is important for players to SIGN ON BEFORE they play. This is for both insurance and eligibility reasons (semi finals and rep teams).


ALL team members must be in the correct uniform. Referees will enforce NO UNIFORM NO NUMBER NO PLAY NO EXCUSES policy from round 4 onwards.

Major Partner

Thank you to our Sponsors

Community Partner

Manly Touch Video

Social Media

Photo Gallery