State Champions Celebrate Victories after Game Day Battles

The Lacrosse WA grand finals were played on Saturday 22nd September at Halliday Park with Men’s and Women’s State League and Division 2 teams competing, as well as the Men’s Division 3. This was the first time in Lacrosse WA history the men’s and women’s grand finals were played on the same day. The Bayswater Lacrosse Club hosted the 2012 championship games.

In the Women’s State League final, Wembley defeated minor premiers, East Fremantle.   The game was opened with a goal scored by Bec Bowland Curtis from East Fremantle but Wembley answered with a goal from Bec Banyard. At half time Wembley led 7-3.
After half time, the flood gates opened for Wembley with goals scored by Hayley Simpson, Hannah Barnsley, Emily Hall, Sally Banyard and Amanda Plummer notching up nine goals between them in the second half. The match ended with Jo Ward from East Fremantle scoring in the dieing minutes of the game.
The Final score was 16-7. MVP was midfielder Hannah Barnsley from Wembley who scored a massive five goals. Wembley’s Sarah Forbes said, “
This is such a fantastic result for our team. We were well prepared coming into the match and we put it all together on the day. Everyone played their role and this resulted in our best game of the season.”

In the Men’s State League Grand Final, Bayswater defeated Wembley. Wembley has won the last four premierships and Bayswater were out to get them – and they did. At the end of the first half Wembley lead 6-3. After the half time break Bayswater came alive. Bayswater dominated the face-off to turn the game around. At three quarter time Bayswater led 9-6. In the fourth quarter Bayswater seemed to be unstoppable scoring anther four goals.
The final Score was 13-9 and Jesse Bowland-Curtis from Bayswater was named MVP of the match.
Bayswater’s Captain, Glenn Morley said, “
Wembley have been a fantastic side for many years, and we take our hat off to their accomplishments of 4 straight premierships, but it was a great win for Bayswater and not just the boys that played in the team but the whole club. I couldn’t be more proud of all the boys who made a lot of sacrifices over the course of a long season, and it is a reward for their effort and discipline.”

In the Men’s Division 2 grand final Wanneroo defeated Bayswater 11-10 and Lachlan Walker from Wanneroo was named MVP. In the Women’s Division 2 the all-Wembley derby was won by Wembley Rays who defeated their club-mates, the Wembley Dolphins. Wembley Rays coach Amanda Plummer said, “It was an incredible show down of two amazing Wembley teams! We gave it everything we had and the best team won on the day.” Sadly during the match Alison Smith from the Rays tore her ACL and will require surgery.
Men’s Division 3 saw Phoenix defeated by Wembley in sudden death over time.

The youth grand finals have already been played with Phoenix defeating Wanneroo in the Under 13 boys, East Fremantle winning against Bayswater in the Under 15 boys. In the Under 16 girls grand final Phoenix defeated Subiaco while Wembley defeated Bayswater in the Under 17 boys.     

For more information about Lacrosse in Western Australia visit
Lacrosse WA is proudly supported by Healthway, to promote the Smarter than Smoking message.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


Photo Gallery


2016 Women's A Grade

Register Now