Smarter Than Smoking LWA 2012 Final Series

Media Release

Immediate Release

4th September 2012

Smarter Than Smoking LWA 2012 Final Series

The Bayswater Lacrosse Club will host the 2012 Lacrosse WA final series.
The senior grand finals will be played on Saturday 22nd September at Halliday Park with Men’s and Women’s State League and Division 2 teams competing as well as the Men’s Division 3. This is the first time in Lacrosse WA history that men’s and women’s grand finals will be played on the same day.

Men’s team semi finals commence on 8th September 2012 at Halliday Park with Wembley taking on Bayswater in the State League One vs Two game.
Favourites to take out the Men’s State League title is Wembley who have remained undefeated for the 2012 season but underdogs Bayswater believe they have what it takes to rise to the challenge. The other two top 4 teams are Wanneroo and East Fremantle.

Women’s semi finals will be played at Light Street, Dianella on 9th September and East Fremantle will be playing Wembley in the State League One versus Two game. It is predicted that the women’s grand final will be played between East Fremantle and the Wembley. Competition between these two teams is always close but East Fremantle has defeated the Wembley women twice in 2012. Wanneroo and Phoenix have also made the top 4 in the women’s competition and anything can happen when these top four teams meet.

Bayswater Lacrosse Club President Glenn Morley said, “ With the impending Lacrosse WA finals commencing this weekend, the Bayswater Lacrosse Club are looking forward to running a great event. For the first time in history all the senior grand finals will be played on the same day at the same venue, which should prove to be a great day for WA Lacrosse. We have a committed team putting everything together for the finals and we want everyone to have a great experience at the club regardless of the result.”

Big names competing in the State League finals include Alex Brown, Sam Williams, Gareth Allen, Glenn Morley, Jesse Bowland-Curtis, Matt Diver, Tegan Brown, Tessa Atkinson, Caitlin Ryan, Bec Banyard, Elizabeth Hincks, Sarah Forbes who are all current members of the Men’s and Women’s Australian Squad preparing for World Championships (except for Barnsley who plays for England).

Junior grade grand finals (boys and girls) will be played on 8th, 15th and 16th September – for more information visit www.

This is finals Lacrosse and anything can happen!

Lacrosse WA is proudly sponsored by Healthways. For more information visit


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


Photo Gallery


2016 Women's A Grade

Register Now