Youth Basketball Overview

We have many opportunities for young people to discover our game or further their skills as existing players.


Miniball is run during terms 1 & 4 at multiple locations in Christchurch. These are Cowles Stadium, Bishopdale YMCA, Pioneer and Lincoln Events Centre.

Miniball is open to all Canterbury schools and is for children in years 3 & 4. Please contact for more information.

Youth Competition:

During terms 2 & 3, CBA clubs runs  youth competitions for Years 5/6 & 7/8 students. Games are played at Cowles Stadium, Bishopdale YMCA, Pioneer Stadium, Middleton Grange and in Lincoln and Ellesmere. Please contact for more information. 

Hoops Academies:

Hoops After School Academy offers children a fun introduction and advancement pathway to developing the skills to play basketball. For more information on these, please click here


Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2015 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2016

Men's Premier Champions: Gators

Women's Premier Champions: Lincoln University

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Royals Dark Horses

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Christchurch Boys' High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Pioneer Placemakers

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U20 Champions: Wolverines

Boys' U17 Champions: Burnside High School

Girl's U17 Champions: Christchurch Girls' High School

Boys' U15 Champions: Cashmere High School

Men's Midweek: University

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Saints

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Wharenui Gators

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Eastern Wolverines

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: North Canterbury Tar Heels