Helensburgh girls have touched down with Jillaroos team in England!

One of Rugby League’s longest-serving representative Captains Karyn Murphy and World Cup veteran Tahnee Norris have been named as co-captains to lead the 2013 Jillaroos into battle at the Festival of the World Cups in Leeds this month.

The two stars have more than 30 years of experience between them with Murphy having played in every World Cup since the introduction of the women’s competition in 2000.

She has led squads into battle for more than 15 years including the Women’s All Stars and QLD with the State representative having played alongside teammate Norris in a winning streak for the Maroons now spanning over 15 years.

“It’s a huge honour any time to be selected to represent your country and being selected to captain this team going into our fourth World Cup,” Murphy said.

“I am really excited about this squad, I think we have a great opportunity to take the Cup off New Zealand who have won the past three.”

The Australian team is expected to face strong opposition from hosts England and cross-Tasman rivals New Zealand.  The NZ Ferns have won all three World Cups since its inception in 2000.

Norris will lead the side as the Tour Captain while Murphy will lead the side on the field.

“It is always a special experience and to be given that honour to such a great team is fantastic and I just can’t wait to get out there,” Norris said.

In an emotional presentation former Coach Graham Murray who had to step aside due to health reasons addressed the squad and presented the team with their jerseys which features the Australian coast of arms on the women’s.

“When you get selected onto a footy team it’s about your ability and I have know every single one of these women has that ability,” Murray said.

“But most importantly it’s how you come together as a team that is the most crucial part and to me, looking around this room, you can’t be left in better hands than people supporting around and your own teammates.”

The Jillaroos will departed from Sydney on yesterday with the tour timetable and full squad listed below.

2013 Campaign Schedule









Tuesday, 2 July 2013

Jillaroos send off for London

Sydney International Airport



Wednesday, 3 July 2013

Arrive Manchester




Thursday, 4 July 2013





Friday, 5 July 2013

Match 1 - Australia v England

Tetley's Stadium, Dewsbury



Saturday, 6 July 2013

Rest Day




Sunday, 7 July 2013

Rest Day




Monday, 8 July 2013

Match 2 - Australia v France

Bigfellas Stadium. Featherstone



Tuesday, 9 July 2013

Rest Day




Wednesday, 10 July 2013

Rest Day




Thursday, 11 July 2013

Match 3 Australia v New Zealand

LoveRugbyLeague Stadium, Batley



Friday, 12 July 2013

Rest Day




Saturday, 13 July 2013

Play-off 3rd v 4th




Sunday, 14 July 2013

World Cup Final





2013 Jillaroos Squad:


Emma Young (Maitland, NSW)

Elianna Walton (Canley Heights, NSW)

Julie Young NSW (Maitland, NSW)

Ruan Sims (Cronulla, NSW)

Jessica Palmer (Penrith, NSW)

Jo Barrett (Brighton, QLD)

Rebecca Young (Maitland, NSW)

Samantha Hammond (Helensburgh, NSW)

Emily Andrews NSW (Helensburgh, NSW)

Alex Sulusi (Canley Heights, NSW)

Tegan Chandler (Helensburgh, NSW)

Emma Tonegato (Helensburgh, NSW)

Jenni-Sue Hoepper (Springfield QLD)

Deanna Turner (Mackay, QLD)

Heather Ballinger (Cairns, QLD)

Nat Dwyer (Augustine Hills, QLD)

Renae Kunst (West End, QLD)

Steph Hancock (Killarney, QLD)

Tahnee Norris (Robina, QLD)

Carina Brown (QLD)

Karyn Murphy (West End, QLD)

Ali Brigginshaw (Ripley, QLD)

Amber Saltner (Cherbourg, QLD)

Tarah Westera (Penrith, NSW)

Jillaroos Coaching staff

Paul Dyer - head coach, Michael Hancock- Assistant coach / trainer, Fletcher Holmes- assistant coach/ trainer, Pam Goodridge- Trainer, Lisa Rollo- Physio, Murray Stalley- Team Manager, Debbie Brewin- NRL Tour leader.


(Image courtesy Brooke Robberds)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2018 Hardware Man Illawarra League First Grade
1 Wests 23
2 Thirroul 23
3 Collegians 22
4 Dapto 20
5 Berkeley 12
6 Helensburgh 8
7 Corrimal 4