Illawarra Women Win NSW RL Club Championship!

NSW RL Press Release:

At what was a picture perfect day for Rugby League the NSW WRL successfully held the State Club
Championships at St Mary’s Leagues Stadium.

All Sydney Metropolitan teams as well as an invitational side from the Illawarra competed in the round
robin competition as the final opportunity to impress NSW selectors before the Interstate Challenge at
Penrith on 23 June.

Surprise packet for the day was the Illawarra side who showed great determination and skill despite their
lack of size and experience. NSW WRL coach, Mark Riddell, along with Australian Coach, Graham Murray
were impressed by the standard of all the games played on the day.

The day culminated in a grand final of newcomers with Maitland, who have only begun playing in the
Sydney Metropolitan competition, and Illawarra fighting out a hotly contested game. Illawarra were
eventual winners defeating Maitland 22-10.

Other awards for the day were:
Highest Pointscorer for the Championships - Emily Andrews - Illawarra (20pts)
Player of the Grand Final (selected by NSW coaching staff) - Tialesha Quinn - Illawarra

Final selections for the NSW WRL Representative team were:

1 Emma Tonegato - Helensburgh

2 Tarah Westera - Auburn

3 Lisa Fiaola - Auburn

4 Tialesha Quinn - Berkeley

5 Jessica Palmer - Auburn

6 Maddison Studdon - Helensburgh

7 Samantha Hammond - Helensburgh

8 Rebecca Young - Maitland

9 Emily Andrews - Helensburgh

10 Eunice Grimes - Maitland

11 Ruan Sims - Maitland

12 Alex Selusi - Canley Heights

13 Malana Leatigaga - Wests (Illaw)

14 Julie Young - Maitland

15 Teagan Chandler - Helensburgh

16 Candice Clay - Maitland

17 Shellie Rolles - Penrith

18 Elianna Walton - Canley Heights


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2018 Hardware Man Illawarra League First Grade
1 Wests 23
2 Thirroul 23
3 Collegians 22
4 Dapto 20
5 Berkeley 12
6 Helensburgh 8
7 Corrimal 4