Illawarra Coal Cutters launch 2012 season

The Illawarra Coal Cutters officially launched its eagerly anticipated VB NSW Cup rugby league season at the Steelers Club, on Tuesday evening, 28th February.

A highlight of the night was the announcement of Ray Cashmere as the Illawarra Cutters’ captain for their inaugural season along with the announcement of the final squad.

Cashmere, 32, is a former NSW City Origin representative with playing stints at North Queensland Cowboys, Western Suburbs Magpies, Wests Tigers and Salford City Reds (UK).

Head coach Paul McGregor said he is delighted to have a player of Cashmere’s experience leading his young charges, the feeder team for the St George Illawarra Dragons.

“We’ve got a few local juniors in our squad, some yet to taste football at this level, so it’s good to have a quality player like Ray on board,” McGregor said.

“He is a good leader and a popular figure amongst the boys and will give our guys plenty of direction on the field.”

Steelers Chairman, Peter Newell, acknowledged the important role played by major sponsors Illawarra Coal along with Illawarra Credit Union and LX Electrical in bringing the team to fruition.

“There’s been a lot of hard work behind the scenes and too many people to thank individually for getting us to this point but we are extremely pleased to feature two such iconic Illawarra brands on our jersey for the next three years.”

St George Illawarra Dragons CEO, Peter Doust, and Wollongong Lord Mayor Gordon Bradbery were also on hand to wish the Cutters luck for the 2012 season.

The Illawarra Cutters play the Cronulla Sharks in Round One of the VB NSW Cup at Win Stadium on Saturday, March 3 at 3pm.

Illawarra Cutters’ squad: Mark Asquith, Chris Astill, Cameron Bruest, Ray Cashmere, David Catterall, Damien Cook, Jarred Farlow, Josh Goulton, Andrew Fox, Nathan Jones, Jacob Ling, Lulia Lulia, Chris Marlborough, Simon Maslanka, Ty McCarthy, Henry Raiwalui, Jason Raper, Derek Short, Jarrod Thompson.

Media Contact: Mick Donohoe – 0408 689 958


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2018 Hardware Man Illawarra League First Grade
1 Wests 23
2 Thirroul 23
3 Collegians 22
4 Dapto 20
5 Berkeley 12
6 Helensburgh 8
7 Corrimal 4