The St George Illawarra Dragons Football Management and the Illawarra Rugby League Board of Management have determined a policy that will see surplus contracted Dragons players participate in the Illawarra Carlton League throughout the 2011 season.






The Dragons combined NRL and NYC rosters sees in excess of 60 players contracted to the Club and with only 17 players within each competition able to participate each week, there is a requirement for the surplus players to play rugby league outside of the NRL and NYC competitions on a weekly basis.

Unfortunately the Dragons’ arrangement with Shellharbour from last season is not able to continue in 2011 but, fortunately, the Dragons have the capacity to position their players in the Illawarra Carlton Rugby League.

"It is unfortunate that we were not able to continue the association from last year with Shellharbour," said Dragons CEO Peter Doust.

"We did explore other alternatives with the New South Wales Rugby League with respect to the NSW Cup competition but the most suitable outcome was for our players to be placed within the Carlton League.

"Wayne Bennett and his Coaching Staff are more than satisfied with the opportunities delivered through the Carlton League. It is a strong competition that one would think will only be enhanced through the participation of Dragons contracted players."

Carlton League Chairman, Shane McKellar is pleased to welcome the addition of Dragons players to the Carlton League in 2011.

"The Illawarra’s competition has long been one of the Country Rugby Leagues strongest and will more than adequately accommodate the excess Dragons players with a suitable level of competition to maintain their fitness and skills," said McKellar.

The allocation of players to Clubs within the Carlton League has been determined as either a return to their junior Club for local contracted players e.g. Ben Hornby, Corrimal or allocation to the lower placed clubs in the first instance, travel and residency was also taken into consideration for those Dragons contracted players from outside the area.

The 2011 Illawarra Carlton League begins this Friday, March 18 and will be played over 18 rounds before the commencement of the finals series.



The Dragons NRL and NYC Squad allocations for the 2011 Illawarra Carlton League is as follows:




















The Dragons NRL and NYC Squad allocations for the 2011 Illawarra Carlton League is as follows:

Illawara Carlton League Club


NRL Player


NYC Player



Matt Stone


Daniel Penese

Ratu Peni Tagive

Scott Rosser


Nathan Fien

Michael Weyman

Josh Heggie

Alex Mammone


Jack Bosden

Ben Hornby

Jake Marketo

Brett Morris

Evander Cummings

Ty Grout


David Gower

Nathan Jones

Dean Young

Michael Bullock

Simon Maslanka

Todd Ryan

Jarrod Thompson


Peter Cronin

Nathan Ford

Tim Moore

Rixon Russell


Darius Boyd

Jon Green

Jamie Soward

Jarred Boyle

Kane Gillies

Brock Gilmore

Nathan Green

Azan McCumstie

Ben Musolino

Blake Phillips

Andrew Sultana


Mark Asquith


Matt Cooper

Bronx Goodwin

Dan Hunt

Trent Merrin

Daniel Burke

Sam Clune

Adam Docker


Mark Gasnier

Michael Greenfield

Matt Prior

Chris Lewis

Ben Petre


Ben Creagh

Adam Cuthbertson

Nick Emmett

Mitch Rein

Jack DeBelin

Jordan Hay

Alex McKinnon

Trent Ryan

Jack Stockwell


Jason Nightingale

Beau Scott


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2018 Hardware Man Illawarra League First Grade
1 Wests 23
2 Thirroul 23
3 Collegians 22
4 Dapto 20
5 Berkeley 12
6 Helensburgh 8
7 Corrimal 4