Illawarra added another prestigious title to their collection with an emphatic 38-12 win over Gold Coast in the 2010 XXXX Challenge National final at Suncorp Stadium last night.

After leading 16-12 at half time, Illawarra produced a dominant second team performance to register 22 unanswered points.

After winning a record fourth straight NSW Country Rugby League Championship Illawarra were too clinical for their Queensland counterparts in the national final.

“It was a great performance particularly in the second half” Illawarra coach Brett Jones said.

A penalty against Illawarra in possession 20m out gave Gold coast a chance to attack and on the next set their captain and second rower John Flint crashed over for a 4-0 lead after 6 minutes.  Five-eighth Cody Walker’s conversion put the Gold Coast 6-0 ahead.  Illawarra forced an error deep in Gold Coast territory and halfback Blake Dureau sent second-rower James Grehan over between the posts.

B lake Dureau converted to equalise 6-all after 9 minutes.  Clever play by Illawarra centre ryan Smith forced a Gold Coast line drop out but Illawarra could not capitalise on field position.  Illawarra then survived a close call when the final pass went forward.

A good run up the middle by winger Joel Ruskin took Illawarra forward and they almost scored off a Blake Dureau kick but centre Ben Haran injured his AC joint in the process and had to leave the field midway through the opening term.

A heavy tackle forced a turnover and in the next set, interchange forward Faamanu Asoava scored near the posts in the 23rd minute for Blake Dureau to add the extras for a 12-6 lead.

An 80m intercept try by Gold Coast winger Scott Mulligan trimmed the margin to two points in the 28th minute.

Walker’s conversion locked up the scores 12-all.  Grehan injured his ankle in the 34th minute and was helped from the field but returned kin the 62nd minute.

Quick hands across the backline resulted in a try to Illawarra right winger Sam Morath in the 37th minute for a 16-12 lead at the interval.

In the 43rd minute, back rower Brodea Sanders stretched Illawarra’s lead to 20-12 and Blake Dureau’s conversion made it 22-12.  A try to fullback Nathan Dureau stretched Illawarra’s lead to 26-12 after 57th minute. 

A break by Luke Muttdon on to Eamon Hillen who chip kicked ahead for Morath to score his second try for Illawarra to lead 30-12 with 10 minutes to go.  Nathan Dureau passed to Hillen on half way and he raced away to score.

Joel Ruskin put icing on the cake with a try in the last minute.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2018 Hardware Man Illawarra League First Grade
1 Wests 23
2 Thirroul 23
3 Collegians 22
4 Dapto 20
5 Berkeley 12
6 Helensburgh 8
7 Corrimal 4