McNab named Captain


The Newcastle Rugby League have appointed Cessnock's Adrian McNab as the new captain of the Newcastle representative team after the recent withdrawal of Paul Skovgaard due to injury. McNab, who is renowned for his leadership qualities,  will lead the Newcastle team into their semi final clash with North Coast on Saturday for the first time in his career.

The reigning Newcastle Rugby League player of the year has experienced an extraordinary twelve months since his recall to representative football last season. He was an integral part of Newcastle's record win against Illawarra in last season's Divisional final, he took out the coveted Newcastle Rugby League 2HD Player of the Year Award and went on to feature heavily in the match against Great Britain at Energy Australia Stadium on October 20.

Newcastle Rugby League General Manager Jamie O'Connor said "Leading Newcastle to a Country Divisional Championship is possibly the only accolade left for Adrian to achieve. He is passionate about his football, particularly his representative football and he'll do a tremendous job for us without doubt. He is a natural leader with an aura about him that people respond to."

The Newcastle team to travel to Macksville on Saturday is as follows;


1) Dean Amos                             Wyong

2) Michael Fortier                        South Newcastle

3) Joel Rawlins                             Lakes United

4) Aaron Resch                            Western Suburbs

5) Willy Poleo                              Cessnock

6) Kane Bradley                           Cessnock

7) Warick Colley                          Nelson Bay

8) Daniel Hagan                           Lakes United

9) Adrian McNab                         Cessnock

10) Shaun Wessels                       South Newcastle

11) Ji Hill                                     Kurri Kurri

12) Blake Mueller                        Lakes United

13) Todd Maddison                     Lakes United

14) Cheyne McIntyre                   Nelson Bay

15) Alex McCosker                      Macquarie

16) Marc Reed                             Macquarie

17) Marty Oborn                         Kurri Kurri

18) Daniel Stuart                         Kurri Kurri





Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsor