VFL and AFL club alignments

The Victorian Football League (VFL) is the state’s peak football competition and is considered the best outside of the elite Australian Football League.

Victoria’s oldest league was formed in 1877 as the Victorian Football Association (VFA) and is home to several of football’s most famous clubs. The league was re-branded as the VFL in 1996 and since its restructure in 2000, the VFL has provided a high standard and cost-effective competition for AFL-listed players not selected in the national league.

Today, the VFL is home to the state’s best senior footballers and continues to provide opportunities for players to be drafted by AFL clubs or AFL rookie-listed.

The 2016 Peter Jackson Victorian Football League season will be contested by the following 15 teams:

Box Hill Hawks (Hawthorn)                                North Ballarat

Casey Scorpions (Melbourne)                             Northern Blues (Carlton)

Coburg                                                             Port Melbourne

Collingwood                                                      Richmond

Essendon                                                          Sandringham (St Kilda)

Frankston                                                         Werribee (North Melbourne)

Footscray                                                         Williamstown 



VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 32
2 Casey Demons 32
3 Essendon 28
4 Geelong 28
5 Box Hill Hawks 24
6 Collingwood 24
7 Williamstown 24
8 Port Melbourne 24
9 Footscray 24
10 North Melbourne 20
11 Sandringham 16
12 Werribee 12
13 Northern Blues 8
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 0