New Zealand Olympic Swim Team

A team of 12 was named including eight individuals and the women’s 4x200m freestyle relay team. There may be further additions to the team with the men’s 4x200m freestyle relay, women’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay and the men’s 4x100m medley relay awaiting final confirmation from FINA and the open water swimmers to compete in their final selection race both in early June.

This compares with the previous biggest teams of 15 for the Beijing Olympics, 13 in Athens in 2004 and 14 in Atlanta in 1996. The team includes eight performances currently ranked in the top 10 in the world to date this year. Five of the eight individuals named have qualified in multiple events. The line-up comprises 2008 Olympians Melissa Ingram, Glenn Snyders, Daniel Bell, Natasha Hind, Hayley Palmer and Lauren Boyle. Others to step up from the Delhi Commonwealth Games team include Gareth Kean, Amaka Gessler, Natalie Wiegersma and Penelope Marshall. The newcomers are talented Wellington teenager Samantha Lucie-Smith and exciting 20 year old Matthew Stanley, who broke the long standing national records of Danyon Loader in the 200m and 400m freestyle to qualify.

New Zealand has a proud Olympic history in swimming. New Zealand’s first gold medal was won by a swimmer and our first female Olympian represented New Zealand in the pool. Malcolm Champion together with three Australian team-mates won gold in the 4 x 200 yard freestyle at the 1912 Stockholm Olympic Games representing Australasia. Violet Walrond was just fifteen and one of our youngest athletes ever when she attended the 1920 Olympic Games in Antwerp. This was the first Games New Zealand competed under a national flag.

Danyon Loader went on to secure New Zealand’s second and third Olympic Gold medals in 1996 at the Atlanta Olympic Games in the 200m and 400m men’s freestyle. He also won New Zealand’s only silver medal in Olympic swimming at Barcelona in 1992.

New Zealand has a total of seven Olympic swimming medals (three gold, one silver and three bronze).


The Team:

Daniel Bell - 100m backstroke

Lauren Boyle - 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 800m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay

Amaka Gessler - 4x200m freestyle relay

Natasha Hind - 4x200m freestyle relay

Melissa Ingram - 200m backstroke

Gareth Kean - 100m backstroke, 200m backstroke

Samantha Lucie-Smith - 4x200m freestyle relay

Penelope Marshall - 4x200m freestyle relay

Hayley Palmer - 50m freestyle

Glenn Snyders - 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke

Matthew Stanley - 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle

Natalie Wiegersma - 200m individual medley, 400m individual medley.

The support staff will be confirmed in the near future, with final confirmation on the additional relay team qualification due on 11 June.


Successfully nominated to New Zealand Olympic Committee, pending FINA confirmation

(underlined names not already selected to Olympic team in other events)

4 x 200m men’s freestyle relay

Matthew Stanley, Steven Kent, Dylan Dunlop-Barrett, Andrew McMillan

4 x 100 women’s freestyle relay

Hayley Palmer, Amaka Gessler, Penelope Marshall, Natasha Hind

4 x 100 men’s medley relay

Gareth Kean (Back), Glenn Snyders (Breast), Daniel Bell (Fly), Carl O’Donnell (Free)








Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Photo Gallery