Following consultation between the FFA and its member federations FFA has announced that the forthcoming Futsal National Championships will be streamlined to create a more competitive tournament with each member Federation being invited to enter one team per age category. Special consideration will be given to NSW where a City and Country side will be allowed to participate

Please note that the FFA have also combined the girls age groups for 2013 onwards into double age groups, hence there is no longer a separate age group for U11, U13 and U15 girls.  Players who are 10 and 11 can trial for the under 11s; those aged 12, 13 and 14 can trial for the under 14s; whilst players aged 14, 15 and 16 can trial for the under 15s. This was due to low numbers and a lack of adequate depth in many Federations, preventing them from fielding a team in these age groups.  These changes are therefore designed to ensure more Federations are able to enter teams in all age groups, improving the competition for everyone.

Under these new directions Member Federations will be allowed to enter ONE team in the following age groups with the cut-off date being 31 December 2012:

• Open Men and Open Women
• Youth Men and Youth Women
• Under-16 Boys and Under-16 Girls
• Under-15 Boys
• Under-14 Boys and Under-14 Girls
• Under-13 Boys
• Under-12 Boys and Under-12 Girls

The changes bring the FFA Futsal Championships in line with the FFA Junior and Youth Football Championships making a more comprehensive Talent Identification process at the elite level. The rationale for the changes also means that each Federation will enjoy a wider-selection of fixtures against different teams. This will give the tournament a truly national feel at all levels and help  to grow the game within those Federations where Futsal is still in a relatively fledgling state compared to the ACT, NSW and developing areas such as Victoria and Queensland (outside the Vikings structure).


This means NO Southern NSW this year......