Cook Islands Olympic Connection

After four years of steady development for the sport of bodybuilding, following a Gold Medal win by Teinaki Rasmussen in the U70KG division at the 2007 Games held in Samoa, WBPF Director for Oceania, Philip Hope (a past Team Manager for Cook Islands) is very pleased to see the Cook Islands now has established a robust and active national federation that is recognised by their National Olympic Committee.

In fact the President of the Cook Islands Bodybuilding Federation (CIBBF) is none other than George George, Chef Demission for Cook Islands National Games Team for the 2011 Pacific Games.


George is pictured on the far left standing next to bodybuilding champion Dean Teiho who represented the Cook Islands at the Inaugural WBPF Men’s World Championships held in Dubai in 2009, together with other team members.


Newly Elected Executive

Wednesday 2nd December 2009 saw Cook Islands Bodybuilding Federation (CIBBF) elect a new executive members. The CIBBF has been dormant for some years, but through Phillip Hope the athletes have still been competing for the Cook Islands and winning medals.

George George Williamson was elected as the new President of CIBBF, with Casper Materiki as Vice President, Secretary General Robert Graham (as acting capacity), Treasurer Charles Carlson, and Committee Members (Tumutevarovaro) Johnny Hosking, (Outer Islands) Maara Tetava with Joe Daniel (Oversaes).

The New Executive have plans to re-organise the Mr Cook Islands tournament, also the Constitution Bodybuilding Championships. With the support of Phillip Hope, they are looking at bringing one of their top bodybuilders back during the Constitution Championships. The President George Williamson, says, "we have the talent here, and these athletes can go places".more
[click here for archives]

Building Board...

Thank you to the Oceania Bodybuilders and congratulation to you all.



Major Sponsor

Photo Gallery